Connect with us
Ministry of health

Age-limit removal ‘unstopable’ as NRM vows use of majority power


Age-limit removal ‘unstopable’ as NRM vows use of majority power

NRM Chief Whip Ruth Nankabirwa

A total 287 Members of the National Resistance Movement party caucus have voted to support a motion by Igara East Member of Parliament Raphael Magyezi seeking leave of office to introduce a private members bill to scrap the 75-year presidential age limit.

During the caucus meeting convened by the government chief whip Ruth Nankabirwa and attended by the Prime Minister Dr. Ruhakana Rugunda and other key ministers on Wednesday, only seven out of the 296 members voted against the proposal while two abstained.

Magyezi is now expected to seek leave of parliament today Thursday to prepare and table the motion seeking to scrap article 102 (b) of the constitution, which restricts the presidential age to between 35 and 75 years of age.

During the caucus meeting, Kasanda North County MP, Patrick Nsamba, proposed that government institutes a constitution review commission seconded by Lwemiyaga County MP Theodore Sekikubo which was voted for by only four members.

The Chief Whip Ruth Nankabirwa pointed out that majority of the NRM Members opted for Magyezi’s motion against the establishment of the constitutional review commission, because of the time factor as stipulated in the presidential petition ruling that called for amendments to be effected within a period of 2 years.

According to Nankabirwa, the two years will elapse on the May 18, 2018, yet the Constitutional review commission may take a long period of time to address comprehensive amendments.

Margaret Muhanga was quick to add that the Magyezi’s motion is not only focusing on article 102 (B) but it will be considering amendment of other crucial articles including article 61, 183 and article 104 that provides a period of 20 days in which the Electoral Commission should organize the re-election in case the court nullifies  a presidential election.

Whereas Kasambya County MP Gafa Mbwatemwa and Palisa MP Agnes Amedi walked out in protest before the voting started, Nankabirwa said one member of the NRM party went on record protesting during the meeting.

But those who moved the proposal to have a constitutional review commission are ready to table it in Parliament today.



More in News




To Top